Odisha Government Appoints Arun Sarangi as Additional Charge as Odisha’s DGP

Bhubaneswar: Arun Sarangi, a 1990-batch IPS officer and special DG, has been given additional charge as the Director General of Police (DGP) of Odisha, following the retirement of Sunil Kumar Bansal from the post on Sunday.

Sarangi, who is currently serving as the director of the Biju Patnaik State Police Academy (BPSPA), will hold the additional charge of the state police chief until a new DGP is appointed, as per a notification issued by the Home Department on Saturday.

Throughout his career, Sarangi has held various key positions, including Superintendent of Police (SP) in Rayagada, Berhampur, Jagatsinghpur, Bhubaneswar, and Rourkela.

He has also served as DIG Crime Branch, Northern Region Central Range DIG, DIG (Law and Order), and IG (Law and Order). The state government has recommended a list of seven IPS officers to the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) for consideration for the post of the next DGP.

Among them are 1988-batch IPS officer Arun Rai, 1989-batch IPS officers Amrit Mohan Prasad, B Radhika, and S Naravane, and 1990-batch IPS officers Yogesh Bahadur Khurania, Sudhanshu Sarangi, and Arun Sarangi.

The meeting to select the new DGP has yet to be held. Sarangi’s appointment as the interim DGP is seen as significant in view of the upcoming general elections in the state.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!