After Withdrawal of 3 Candidates, total 11 Candidates in fray for upcoming Brajrajnagar Bye election

Jharsuguda: A total of 11 candidates are in the fray for the Brajrajnagar assembly bye-election in the Jharsuguda district, after the deadline for withdrawal of nomination ended on Tuesday.

This by-election was necessitated after sitting legislator Kishore Kumar Mohanty of Biju Janta Dal passed away in December last year.

On the last day of withdrawal of nominations, out of total of 14 candidates, 3 candidates including two independent candidates Tapan Swain and Pabitra Behera while one Manoj Pradhan of Odisha Janta Dal withdrew their nominations, bringing down the final total of candidates to 11.

In this bye-election, Biju Janta Dal has fielded Alaka Mohanty, the wife of late Kishore Kumar Mohanty, while Bharatiya Janta Party has fielded Smt. Radharani Panda, Congress Party has fielded Ex-Minister Kishore Chandra Patel, Communist Party of India has fielded Ramesh Tripathy and Hindustan Nirman Dal has fielded Bijay Kumar Jalan apart from these, six candidates will try their luck as an Independent candidates.

BJP and Congress had already published their 40-member Star Campaigners which includes Union ministers and MLA, while on Tuesday Biju Janta Dal have published their 40-member Star Campaigner list which included Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and other heavyweight BJD leaders like Pranab Prakash Das, Debi Prasad Das, Prasanna Acharya, Niranjan Pujari, Pratap Jena, Arun Sahoo, Sanjay Kumar Das Verma, Samir Ranjan Das, Naba Kishore Das along with other prominent BJD Leaders.

With just 14 days for the election, all the major three political parties have geared up and are busy building their strategies to win this by-election while the candidates have kicked off their election campaign and are holding the door to door campaigns with their manifesto to woo the voters.

The Election Commission of India has announced May 31, 2022, as the date for the by-election to the Brajrajnagar Assembly seat while the counting of votes will be done on June 3.


We are a group of professionals providing all-around information of Jharsuguda District.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!