CM inaugurates OPGC 1320 MW Power Plant, dedicates to the people of Odisha


Jharsuguda : Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik inaugurated Unit – 3 & Unit- 4 of 660 MW each, an expansion project of Odisha Power Generation Corporation Ltd. (OPGC) at a function held at IB Thermal Power Station, Banharpalli on Friday.

He also flagged off the commencement of Mining activity of Manoharpur Coal mine of Odisha Coal & Power Limited (OCPL), situated at Hemgir Block under Sundargarh District through Video Conferencing.

Odisha Power Generation Corporation Ltd. (OPGC) have been running with Unit-1 & Unit -2 with a capacity of 210 MW. The foundation stone of this Unit-3 and Unit-4 was laid by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on 23rd February 2014.  Unit – 3 and Unit – 4 of capacity 660 MW each has been built with a cost of Rs. 15,000 Crore.

While addressing function, CM Naveen Patnaik said that” A new history has been created in the power sector of Odisha as the 1320 MW (2 x 660 MW) Power Plant got inaugurated. In the coming 25 years, this power plant will provide reliable quality power to the people of Odisha.”

“Electric has reached to each and every village including households of Odisha. This will solve the problems of electricity for farmers, students and house makers. For the successful completion of this plant, I want to thank people of Banharpalli area. We have rehabilitated the displaced families at the new colony and will provide better education, Health and Skill development for them.” he added

In this occasion, Mark Green, President, Eurasia of AES Corporation, along with Sushant Singh (Minister of Energy),  Hemant Sharma (Energy Secretary and Chairman), Bargarh MP Dr. Prabas Kumar Singh, Indranil Dutta (Managing Director,OPGC), Alok Mukherjee (Director, Operation, OPGC ) , Jharsuguda Collector Bibhuti Bhusan Das along with many others were present.