Municipal ElectionPolitical

BJD sweeps in Jharsuguda & Brajrajnagar Municipality

Jharsuguda: BJD sept the Urban Polls held on 22nd November. Replicating the results just like Costal belt, here in Jharsuguda and Brajrajnagar, BJD had cleaned sweep in both the municipalities of Jharsuguda & Brajrajnagar.

In Jharsuguda BJD won 14 seats (Ward No. 1,2,3,7,12,13,14,17,18,19,20,22,23,24) while Cong manage to get 10 seats (Ward No. 4,5,6,8,9,10,11,15,16,21 ) , but BJP this time could not manage to get even single seat where as in Brajrajnagar BJD won 16 seats (Ward No. 1,3,5,6,7,8,9,10,12,14,15,17,18,19,20,23) while Congress won 5 seats (Ward No. 2, 4, 13, 16, 21) and BJP got 2 (Ward No. 11,22)seats.

On Saturday , the counting were started as per the schedule 8.00 A.M. in morning at L.N. College in Jharsuguda, In Presence of ADM Bibhuti Bhusan Behera , Sub Collector Sukant Tripathy , Election Observer Guru Dev Sahu along with tight security force , the counting were conducted.

Just outside the premises, the members and supporters of the political parties were standing in anxious to know there candidates results.

41,766 voters had voted from a total of 65833 voters in Jharsuguda while in 34,565 voters had voted from total of 52726 voters

The outcome of the urban local bodies’ election holds significance for all political parties to gouge their strength ahead of assembly polls in 2014.

Whereas the BJD District President and Ex – Speaker Kishore Mohanty said that, “This win is for the public of Jharsuguda and against the “Gundaism” and seeing the development work of Naveen Patanaik in Odisha, here in Jharsuguda public has selected our candidate and I promise Jharsuguda Public that in coming years, we will prove that the second name of Jharsuguda Development is BJD.   We would work with the interest of public and would try to make No. 1 district not only in the state but in the world. I want to dedicate this win to all Jharsuguda People.”

Where Congress Party MLA Naba Kishore Das in a press release has said that, “With respect I accept the verdict of public of Jharsuguda in this election. I want to thank all voters of each ward who have voted for Congress candidate, I will keep on continue and support all round developmental works for Jharsuguda and Municipality.”


We are a group of professionals providing all-around information of Jharsuguda District.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Check Also
Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!