Jharsuguda: Rotary Club of Jharsuguda Royal celebrated its Installation ceremony held on 28th evening. In this occasion, Hon. Sri Justice B.K. Patel, Orissa High Court was the chief guest along with the Sri P.K. Dash, IRS, Commissioner of Income Tax, Sambalpur, Past Dist. Governor Rtn. Pramod Kumar Rath , Sambalpur was the Guest of Honour.
Rotarian Manoj Sultania , President for the year 2011-12 handed over the charges to the new president Rotarian Ajay Poddar for the year 2012-13 simultaneously the Secretary Manmath Mishra, Secretary for the year 2011-12 handed to the new Secretary Suresh Tulshyan for the year 2012-13.
Taking the charge of this year’s Presidentship, Rtn. Ajay Poddar announced two new projects for the Club in coming years:
1. A Ten year project for eradication of open defecation in Jharsuguda District, which is a Club Project
2. One Year project to ensure safe drinking water for all children’s in Jharsuguda District, which is a President Project
Hon. Justice B.K. Patel speaking to the members of the club said that they should always try to protect the environment as in near future it will play an important part. He also said that as the industrialization is on peak simultaneously the cases of un-necessary land grabbing of peoples are increasing by numbers we should come forward and restrict these things to save our society.
Sri P. K. Dash congratulated the Rotarian for the new projects and advised them that these kinds of long term initiatives will help the needy.
In this function, three distinguished guest were also honoured for their siginificant contribution towards the society. Kishan Lal Sultania who has helped more than 10,000 women’s to live independently by giving them trainings through his Organization Indra Devi Memorial Trust.
Fakira Mohan Padhi was being felicitated for his contribution in the field of education. He started as a teacher of UPME School. He has been working for the upliftment of underprivileged students by providing them education
Lastly Pratap Behera , for being a charter president of First Rotary Club of Jharsuguda in 1979.
Additionally, ladies Rotary Club was also formed named The Rotary Inner wheel.