Jharsuguda News

Congress Wins Chairman seat in Belpahar , while BJD Sins Brajrajnagar and Jharsuguda Seat

Jharsuguda : Victory of congress Chairman seat in Belpahar Municipality in by-election bound Brajrajnagar Assembly constituency has come as surprise in the political circle. However, the chairman post in the other two municipalities, Brajrajnagar and Jharsuguda in Jharsuguda district, has been grabbed by the Biju Janta Dal in the ULB election, whose counting was held on Saturday.

In Belpahar Municipality, Congress Chairman candidate Nimai Charan Panda had defeated his nearest rival Hitesh Thakkar of Biju Janta Dal by a margin of 3109 votes. He secured a total of 9266 votes, while his nearest rival candidate from the BJD party Hitesh Thakkar managed to secure only 6157 votes.

While in Brajrajnagar Municipality, Biju Janta Dal Chairman Candidate Jagyaseni Oram had defeated her nearest rival by a margin of 8,982 Votes. Oram had secured a total of 22,085 votes, while her nearest rival BJP Candidate Ritarani Dhurua managed to secure only 13103 votes.

Whereas in Jharsuguda Municipality, Biju Janta Dal Chairman Candidate Smt. Rani Hathi had defeated her nearest rival by a margin of 6162 votes. She secured a total of 26,729 votes while her nearest rival BJP parties Trinath Gual had managed to secure only 20,567 votes.

From the BJD party, heavyweight Odisha Health Minister Naba Das had been monitoring the election management of the BJD party in all the three municipalities whereas from the BJP party, Bargarh MP and Senior BJP Leader Suresh Pujari.

In Jharsuguda Municipality, out of 24 Wards, BJD secured 21 seats, while BJP managed to secure only 3 seats while the Congress party did not secure any seats.  Similarly, in Brajrajnagar Municipality, out of 23 seats, BJD Secured 20 while BJP party secured 2 seats, whereas BSP secured only 1 seat while Congress party did not secure any seats.  Whereas in Belpahar Municipality, out of 19 wards, BJD bagged 14 seats while BJP party bagged 3 seats, whereas Congress party managed to secure only 2 seats.

“The congress candidate Nimai Charan panda had been an Ex-councillor and had been involved in many developmental works and used to work for local public and was a popular face which worked for congress, while for BJD candidate, there were several factors due to which the candidate lost. It seems that their own party workers had not supported him” said, Sakhil Akhtar, a political analyst of Belpahar.

In the Last ULB Election, in Belpahar Municipality, out of a total of 19 wards, BJD had won on 16 wards, While BJP managed to win 2 wards and congress in 1 ward., Similarly in Brajrajnagar Municipality out of 23 wards, the BJD party had secured 16 seats, Congress secured 5 seats and BJP secured only 2 seats, whereas in Jharsuguda Municipality, out of 24 wards, BJD had secured 14 seats while Congress party secured 10 seats and while BJP party could able to secure any seats.

In Brajrajnagar Municipality, there are 58,237 voters, while under Belpahar Municipality 27,087 voters and in Jharsuguda Municipality a total voters 75,458.


We are a group of professionals providing all-around information of Jharsuguda District.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!