BJD bags Chairman Posts


Jharsuguda: After a clean sweep in the recent ULB Polls, BJD on Wednesday elected its Chairperson in both Jharsuguda and Brajrajnagar Municipalities.

In election held on Monday, BJD’s Harish Gunatra was elected as chairperson of Jharsuguda Municipality. He won the chairperson election by defeating his congress opponent Siyaram Das by winning by 4 votes. Harish secured 14 votes from total 24 votes. This was the second time when Harish Gunatra was elected Chairperson of Jharsuguda Municipality. Previously, he was elected as chairperson in the year 2007.

In Brajrajnagar, BJD’s Nand Kishore Agarwal was re-elected as Chairperson of Brajrajnagar Municipality. He defeated his opponent Kadambani Rout of Congress. In Brajrajnagar where BJD had won 16 seats, Congress 5 seats and 2 seats by BJP. On Monday, BJP candidates had not participated in the election. Here Congress got 4 votes while Nand Kishore Agarwal won by securing 17 votes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here