Jharsuguda Dist. Athletic Association honours 16 Athletics for bringing 22 medals in 59th State Athletic Meet & 24th East Zone Athletic Championship 2012


Jharsuguda: Today in a Felicitation ceremony held at Hotel Meghdoot at 11. P.m. by Dist. Athletic Association had honoured 21 Athletes who had won 22 medals in the 59th State Athletic Meet and 5 medals in 24th East Zone Athletic Championship 2012 held recently.
In this Ceremony, Jharsuguda Collector Bishnu Prasad Mishra was the chief guest of the function along with Ex- MLA and Speaker Kishore Kumar Mohanty , Ex- Chairman , Jharsuguda Municipality Tapas Ray Choudhwary , CSR wings Head of Vedanta Rajesh Ranjan , Dist. Athletic Association Secretary Dileshwar Rao , Secretary of Athletic Manas Ranjan Acharya were present in this function.
Jharsuguda Collector Bishnu Parasad Mishra said that though “I have been coming to western Odisha for the first time, I got an opportunity to work here and would surely act towards promoting sports in our District so that the medal tally which is 22 in numbers this year would be more in coming years I congratulated every athletic who have won and made us proud.”
Kishore Mohanty in his speech said that “For the first time since 1994 any collector had came in meeting organized by Dist. Athletic. He also informed about the necessity of having stadium to promote this types of sports and athletics where Jharsuguda is lagging behind. He also requested Jharsuguda Collector of having a special room in upcoming new collectorate building. He also proposed to have a sports hostel too so that it will help sports person from the remote areas of the Dist. He also requested Vedanta to take initiatives in promoting these types of Athletics by supporting them. Lastly he congratulated all the winners.”
Rahul Singh ( 100mts running – Bronze , Long Jump – Gold ) , Abhisek Saha (Shotput – Gold) , Sonia Pradhan( 100mts running – Gold , 200mts running – Silver), Saroj Gouda (Javelin – Gold ) , Aswin Paswan(Javelin – Bronze ) , Sadam Khan(100 mts running – Bronze), Manoranjan Mahanta (High Jump – Bronze , Shot Put – Silver) , Bikram Yadav (Triple Jump – Gold) , Jhili Barik (3000 mtrs – Gold , 1000mtrs – Gold) , Khusbu Rani Panda (Long Jump – Bronze) , B. Saini Ambika (Shot put – Silver , Discuss – Gold) , Ankita Mukhi (Long jump – Bronze) , Firdosh Begam (High Jump – Silver) , Sushil Ku. Sharma (Men 3000 mtrs. – Steeple Chase – Silver) , Gadadhar Dakua ( Men 2000 mtrs. – walk Bronze ) , Susmita Rabana (Women 400mtrs – Silver , 800mtrs – Silver)
In 24th East Zone Athletic Championship Rahul Singh (Long jump – Gold, 100mtrs. – Silver ) , Sonia Pradhan (100mtrs – Gold , Relay – Silver ) , SAroj Gouda (Javelin – 4th postion) , Manoranjan Mahanta (Discuss – Bronze ) B. Saini Ambika (Discuss – Gold , Shotput – Silver) were felicitated by the Dist. Athletic Association.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here